TWAS Prizes for Developing Countries’ Scientists , 2014

TWAS Prizes for Developing Countries and applications are open until 28th February 2014.The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) is awarding eight prizes of USD 15,000 each to individual scientists who have been working and living in a developing country for at least ten years. Full details: 

School(Institutions/ Country): | Developing Countries

Level: Prizes (are available to individual scientists).

Field(s): Prizes are given in the following fields of science: agricultural sciences, biology, chemistry, earth sciences, engineering sciences, mathematics, medical sciences and physics.

Deadline: 28th February 2014.

Funded By: The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS)

Beneficiaries(Target Groups): TWAS Prizes for Developing Countries are targeted students of developing countries (Afghanistan,Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina,Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria,Burkina Faso, Burma, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon , Cape Verde, Central African, Republic Chad, Chile, People’s Republic of China, Colombia, , Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Croatia, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, 
Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, The Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada,

 Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Indonesia, India, Iran, Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Lithuania, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico,  Federated States of Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Samoa, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint- Vincent and the Grenadines, South Sudan, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia and Zimbabwe)

Benefits(Value/ Inclusions):

Award No: Eight TWAS prizes will be awarded.

Scholarship covers: Each year the Academy awards eight TWAS prizes of USD15, 000 each. Each prize is accompanied by a medal.

Uploaded with


TWAS Prizes for Developing Countries

Each year the Academy awards eight prizes of USD15,000 each to individual scientists who have been working and living in a developing country for at least ten years.

The Prizes are given in the following fields of science: agricultural sciences, biology, chemistry, earth sciences, engineering sciences, mathematics, medical sciences and physics. Deadline for receiving nominations for the TWAS 2014 Prizes: 28 February 2014.

The “TWAS Prizes” evolved from two pre-existing award schemes: TWAS Awards in Basic Sciences, instituted in 1985, to recognize and support outstanding achievements made by scientists from developing countries in biology, chemistry, mathematics and physics and TWNSO Prizes in Applied Sciences, awarded since 1990 by the Third World Network of Scientific Organizations, in the fields of agriculture and technology.


Have what it takes to avail TWAS Prizes for Developing Countries?

‣ Candidates for a TWAS Prize must be scientists who have been working and living in a developing country for at least ten years immediately prior to their nomination.

‣ They must meet at least one of the following qualifications:
-Scientific research achievement of outstanding significance for the development of scientific thought.

‣ Outstanding contribution to the application of Science and Technology to industry or to human well-being in a developing country.

‣ Members of TWAS and candidates for TWAS membership are not eligible for TWAS Prizes.
-Self-nominations will not be considered.

Eligibility Criteria:

‣ Selection of the awardees is made on scientific merit and on the recommendations of the selection committees composed of TWAS members.

Scholarship Application Method

‣ Applicants should apply by post. Nominations must be made on the nomination form and clearly state the contribution the candidate has made to the development of the particular field of science for which the prize would be awarded.

‣ Scholarship Applications are due on 28th February 2014.

‣ Application forms and guidelines can be download from the official website

‣ It is important to read the application procedure, and visit the official websites (link found below) for detailed information on how to apply for this scholarship.

For more Information about TWAS Prizes for Developing Countries

You may also like

‣ Prizes

 February Deadline

‣ Developing Countries

Protected by Copyscape Web Plagiarism Detector

Note: Please, help by pressing the face book like button to viral the post viewed by others !!!


New! Comments

Leave me a comment in the box below.

Enter Your E-mail Address
Enter Your First Name (optional)

Don't worry — your e-mail address is totally secure.
I promise to use it only to send you Free Scholarships News .



More Posts »