ICO-Fred Hollows Foundation One-Year Subspecialty Fellowships for Developing Countries, 2018-19

ICO-Fred Hollows Foundation One-Year Subspecialty Fellowships for Developing Countries , and applications are submitted till September 30. The International Council of Ophthalmology is offering training fellowships to young ophthalmologists from developing countries. This fellowship provides support for training in any ophthalmology subspecialties at a designated ICO Fellowship Training Center. The fellowships will include US$24,000 for one year to cover round-trip travel, living expenses and professional expenses. Fellowships commence the year following application.  Full details:

School(Institutions/ Country): Turkey, Italy, Spain, Austria, Brazil, United Kingdom, Germany, United States and Australia.

Level: Fellowships

Field(s): Fellowships are open for training in any ophthalmology subspecialties offered by a designated ICO Fellowship Training Center

Deadline: September 30

Funded By: International Council of Ophthalmology

Beneficiaries(Target Groups): ICO-Fred Hollows Foundation One-Year Subspecialty Fellowships are targeted for Citizens of developing countries (Afghanistan, Algeria , Angola Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Benin , Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, , Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria,Burkina Faso,  Burma Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, People’s Republic of China, Colombia, Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Croatia, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, The Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Indonesia, India, Iran, Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, 

Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Lithuania, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico,  Federated States of Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Samoa, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint- Vincent and the Grenadines, South Sudan, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia and Zimbabwe) 

Benefits(Value/ Inclusions):

Award No: Two fellowships will be awarded each year.

Scholarship Duration: Fellowships are awarded for one year.

Scholarship covers: The fellowships will include US$24, 000 for one year to cover round-trip travel, living expenses and professional expenses.


The International Council of Ophthalmology (ICO) ICO-Fred Hollows Foundation One-Year Subspecialty Fellowships Program was organized to help promising young ophthalmologists from developing countries improve their practical skills and broaden their perspectives of ophthalmology.

Fellows are expected to bring the acquired knowledge and skills back to their home countries and take part in programs to preserve vision and prevent blindness.


The ICO-Fred Hollows Foundation One-Year Subspecialty Fellowships can only be considered provided the student full fills the below requirements:

‣ The applicant must reside in a developing country.

‣ Applicant must be under 40 years of age at the time of applying.

‣ He or she must be a graduate of an ophthalmology residency training program.
-Specialist exam in ophthalmology must be successfully passed.

‣ Applicant must be recommended by the ophthalmology head of a teaching institution or public service hospital in a developing country.

‣ He or she must be accepted for ophthalmology subspecialty fellowship, one year in duration, at an advanced ophthalmology training center.

‣ Applicant must be reasonably fluent in the language of the fellowship training center.

‣ He or she must be committed to return to a position at a teaching institution or public service hospital in the fellow’s home country.

‣ Candidates who have passed the ICO Examinations in Basic Science, Optics, or Clinical Sciences will receive special consideration.

‣ Applicants from countries with ophthalmologic societies that are Members of the ICO will receive special consideration.


‣ Applicants will be notified by no later than January.

Scholarship Application Method

‣ Applicants are required to apply online.

‣ Scholarship Applications are due on September 30

  • The application deadline is September 30 of each year, with applicants notified no later than January.
  • Applicants may reapply if their previous application was rejected. Note that the ICO Fellowship Committee will assume the applicant's qualifications have significantly improved since last applying.
  • View the online application
  • Questions? Please review Frequently Asked Questions before contacting the ICO Fellowship Committee at: fellowship@icoph.org.


  1. Select a Fellowship: After identifying your country, the ICO Fellowship(s) you are eligible for will be shown.
  2. Complete Eligibility Check: You will be asked to provide information in order to determine if you are eligible to receive the selected ICO Fellowship.
  3. ICO Eligibility Review: After your information is submitted to the ICO your eligibility will be determined. You will be notified of the decision and asked to complete the application or informed that you are not eligible.
  4. Apply to a Host Training Center: If you are eligible, you will select and apply to a host. Please note that you may only apply to one host at a time.
  5. Host Application Review: Your request will be reviewed by the host you have selected. If accepted, you will need to confirm details agreed upon between you and the host. If your request is declined, you will need to select another host.
  6. Fellowship Application Submitted: You will be notified that your application is complete and will be reviewed by the appropriate ICO Fellowship Committee.

Apply for a Fellowship. Get started or continue your application.

(Requires an icoph.org account.)

‣ Application forms and guidelines can be download from the official website

‣ It is important to read the application procedure, and visit the official websites (link found below) for detailed information on how to apply for this scholarship.

For more Information about ICO-Fred Hollows Foundation One-Year Subspecialty Fellowships


2018AustraliaAustriaBrazil, developing countries FellowshipgermanyIndonesia

Protected by Copyscape Web Plagiarism Detector

Note: Please, help by pressing the face book like button to viral the post viewed by others !!!


New! Comments

Leave me a comment in the box below.

Enter Your E-mail Address
Enter Your First Name (optional)

Don't worry — your e-mail address is totally secure.
I promise to use it only to send you Free Scholarships News .



More Posts »